YogaMOOC – Mindfulness and Interpersonal Interactions

     Last week of this great training course «The Science and Practice of Yoga» #YogaMOOC.  I don’t know how to thank Stacy, Dave, Catherine, George and all people involved in this course since it has been amazing, very productive and with only 6 weeks you all have made little changes in me with high impact in the way I think on having a better life.

MINDFULNESS

     During this week, Stacy remind us the importance of cultivate our ability to be aware of your thoughts, along with the varying sensations from inside and outside the body.  Practicing Yoga and living our lives in a mindful way, will help us to change from the automatic pilot that we always live because of the amount of activities we have to an intentional way of living.   Enjoying each moment, being aware of your habitual thoughts, beliefs and perceptions, along with the practice of choosing new behaviors, we would wire new neural connections.  This will help us to be well with yourself, with «others» and with the environment we live on.

     Moreover, in this week, it was described in depth the importance of meaningful connections for our health and well-being.   Individuals need strategies to combat feeling of loneliness and increase belonging. It is important to change the way one thinks about relationship and social interactions, since humans don’t do well when living in isolation.  It has been demonstrated that social relationship are vital for mental and physical well-being throughout one’s entire life.  The first step to changing the way one thinks is to notice how one is thinking.  The simple act of noticing in a mindfulness practice.

“A human being is a part of the whole called by us universe, a part limited in time and space. He experiences himself, his thoughts and feeling as something separated from the rest, a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature in its beauty.” Albert Einstein

     Yoga is a Mindfulness practice.  There are several ways of doing Yoga, choose the one that best align with you.  Honor your body and your mind.  Be self-compassionate since all days are different.  Some days you will have super strength or flexibility, and some days not so much.  Self observe without judgment.  Approach each posture as a practice of mindful awareness. See how self limiting thoughts and beliefs arise during the practice. Make your yoga practice into your life. HAVE FUN.

«Breathe it, live it and radiate it out into the world». Stacy Dockins

candle-1281245_1920        The journal activities for this week are related with social interactions and reflections on the learnings during these 6 weeks…

INTERPERSONAL INTERACTIONS

     The objective of this activity was to observe the quality of our interactions with others. How well we listen, the time we dedicate to it, our body sensations when listening…  What in coaching we call «Active Listening».

     I always try to be in active listening mode since I’m a coach, but during this activity I went a little further, I became aware of everything…  It is interesting to notice that sometimes we spend time with people without being with them, just thinking in yourself, looking at your mobile, or doing nothing.   When we really paid attention to them, when we really listen at them, things changes…  The environment is more friendly, comfortable, caring.  People feel more confident to express their ideas, thoughts and feelings.  You also feel that this is paid to you. You feel well, quiet and confident too. Win-win situation.

COURSE GOAL ASSESSMENT

     For this activity we should write about our experience of setting, monitoring and implementing goals.

     As you have been following in the different posts of this blog, I feel I have achieved my goal for this training course.  I have learned on the science behind yoga, I learned of other teacher’s strategies and I think I have became a better person, so it could translate to be a better yoga instructor.  I think it worked because Yoga and science are important for me and having them together was key to complete this course.  Also because it has been really excellent, well organized and with a clear flow…

     I always believed in setting goals in all aspects of our life.  however in this training I have realized that a goal has to be personally meaningful to really follow and implement.  Monitoring and making the required changes are important pieces for implementing a goal since you can see what works and what require modifications.

REFLECTIONS OVER THE COURSE EXPERIENCE

     I think the content and the practices of this course has made me change some aspects of my Yoga Practice and my daily activities.

     I stay with the happiness and well-being and the eudaimonic (more about the process – self-realization, meaning and purpose in life) view to seek them…  The importance of the self-observation to recognize our thoughts, feelings, sensations. The need to have a mindful life.  How Yoga as a Mindfulness practice help to regulate inside and outside to keep balance in our mind and body, with others and with the environment. The power of the breathing to control stress and keep a healthy life.  The role of the compassion to help also in the auto-regulationFinally wih all the meditations, postures, clases, routines and of course, the new for me, YIN Yoga.

    I stay with the curiosity to continue learning and making follow up to the news that come on the science behind yoga. I stay with all the books titles and the name of the people involved.

    Now, I really appreciate more my relationships and the social interactions I have and in the future I will give new ones more importance.

The last day and I don’t want to finish it.  Thanks to you to take the time to read my posts.  I’m really grateful with this experience and the opportunity to share my reflections with you.  Thanks for being…    

Deja un comentario